The first step to getting your license. Our segment 1 is designed to get you from zero to sixty in three weeks through a combination of classroom theory and time behind the wheel. All of our classes are taught using state of the art classrooms and interactive teaching styles to maximize student participation. For everyones safety, all of our cars are equipped with cameras.
What You Can Expect
Two hours a day, Monday through Thursday, for three weeks
Behind The Wheel
In addition to classroom time, students, will complete six hours of behind-the-wheel drivers training. No more than one hour per day (by law).
In addition to classroom time, students, will perform four hours of in-car observation.
1-on-1 Training Available
If you'd like an even more personal experience or just need some extra time behind the wheel, Century is happy to work with students 1-on-1 for an additional fee.
- Through May 20, 2019 - $399*; After May 20, 2019 - $409*
*$50 non-refundable, non-transferable registration fee. Prices may vary based on location.
- 14 years and 8 months of age**
- Parent's permission
**Students age 14 years and 8 months are welcome to take the Segment 1 course, but are unable to get their their Michigan Graduated Level 1 License until turning 14 years and 9 months. If a student takes the class at 14 years and 8 months, they will receive their certificate after the Segment 1 class. Upon turning 14 years and 9 months, students can bring their certificate to the Secretary of State to receive their permit.
After segment one completion you can apply for your drivers permit
You will need:
- Certified Birth Certificate/Passport
- Social Security Card/Tax Document
- Utility Bill with Parent's Address that matches the living address of the teen
- Parent's Driver's License/ID card
- To pass an eye exam
Once you've earned your Level 1 Learner’s License, and are feeling comfortable behind the wheel, it's time to start thinking about signing up for Segment 2, a state-required class designed to teach students defensive driving techniques and review materials taught in Segment 1. By law you have to wait 3-months from receiving your Level 1 Learner's License to take the class, but we recommend waiting to take Segment 2 until two months before you plan to take your road test.
What You Can Expect
Short and Sweet
Segment 2 is only 3 consecutive days of driver's theory (Don't worry, we make it more fun than it sounds).
Unlike Segment 1, Segment 2 only requires 6 hours of classroom instruction, so you don't have to worry about scheduling driving times this time around (not that you worried about that).
Make The Grade
Once you put in the time and pass a written test, you will receive a Segment 2 Completion Certificate, AKA your ticket to taking the Road Test.
$60 ($50 for returning customers).Prices may vary by locations. Please note our cancellation policy: In order to change your class date without penalty a 48 hour or more notice must be given to cancel or change the selected class date. If less than a 48 hour notice is given to cancel or change the class date a $10.00 fee will be added to the account. If less than a 24 hour advanced notice is given to cancel or change the class date the entire payment for the class is lost.
- 30 hours behind-the-wheel experience, 2 of which are at night
- Minimum of 3 continuous months with Level 1 Learner’s License
- For full requirements of Michigan’s Graduated License System, click here (PDF)
If you need a little more time driving behind the wheel, Century Driving School will provide the wheel and the certified driving instructor. 1-on-1 driving lessons focus on what you need help in.
What You Can Expect
Tailored specifically for you, each in-car driving lesson lasts one hour with a driving instructor.
Drivers of any age are encouraged to take advantage of these in-car driving lessons to brush up on weak spots.
Behind the Wheel
1-on-1 driving lessons include use of a fully insured driver-education car with dual-controlled brakes.
Pick-Up and Drop-Off
If you like, we offer a pick-up and drop-off service for the scheduled in-car driving lesson if you live within 10 minutes of our locations.
- Introductory Hour: $65
- Hours 2-10: $75/Hr
- Hours 11-20: $70/Hr
- Hours 21+: $65/Hr
What We'll Review
We will focus on what you need help with, and also include the following:
- Left turns
- Right turns
- Three point turns
- Backing in and out of driveways
- Backing in a straight line
- Parallel Parking
- Protected and unprotected turns
- Lane changing
- Entering and exiting highways
- Turning onto and off multiple lane streets
- Angle and perpendicular parking
Behind the Wheel
You must have a valid Michigan Graduated Level One License or Temporary Instruction Permit issued by the Secretary of State to participate in our 1-on-1 driving lessons.
Give us a call today to schedule your One-on-One Driving appointments 616.241.4646
Finished Segment 1, but want to keep learning? teenSMART is our recommendation for doing just that. teenSMART is a cutting edge software experience that uses a combination of computer-based driving tutorials, parent-teen activities, and a certification test to help teens navigate through the six factors that cause more than 90% of all teen collisions. teenSMART drivers are safer, more skilled, incur fewer crashes and injuries, and file fewer insurance claims. teenSMART is so effective that insurance companies offer a policy discount for drivers who have a teenSMART certification. To order your discounted version of teenSMART call 616.393.8550 or visit http://www.teensmartdriving.com/ to learn more.
Segment 1? Check. Segment 2? Check. Next up? You need to pass a Secretary of State road test to get your Michigan driver’s license, and Century Driving School is certified by the state of Michigan to help—well, to administer the road test—passing the road test is up to you. Not to toot our own horn (pun intended), but if you've taken Segment 1 and Segment 2 with Century, odds are, you'll do just fine.
Do you have your Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) from the Secretary of State? Check. Have you been on your TIP for at least 30 days or has it been waived 30 days? Check. Next up? You must pass a Secretary of State road test to get your Michigan driver's license. Thankfully, Century Driving School is certified by the state of Michigan to administer the road test! Want the inside scoop about what you will do at your road test? Check out the Driving Skills Test Study Guide for more details at:
What You Can Expect
ROAD TEST BY APPOINTMENT
Setup an appointment to take your road test between Monday and Saturday.
Road Testing 101
State law requires road tests be taken during daylight hours only and typically takes an hour. We have test sites in Holland, Grand Haven, Grand Rapids (Centerpointe Mall), Wyoming, and Wayland. Vehicles are available for rent at each of our locations. Please don't hestitate to contact us if you have any questions.
For those outside of our testing area, we would recommend Integrity road testing and Michigan Road Testing (MRT). For your convenience, we have integrated their road test availability in the list below.
Introducing Road Test Concierge
Starting this summer, Century is offering a full service road testing option to drivers in the Grand Rapids area. For $200, our certified road tester will pick your driver up, administer the road test, help them through the licensing process at Secretary of State, and drop them off at their desired destination. To learn more or to sign up for hassle-free road testing call Dave at 616.241.4646.